top of page

2024 angel book awards guidelines

Angel  Book Award Logo.png

The Angel Book Awards is open to all writers whose Christian fiction/nonfiction books were originally published between Jan. 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Books entered must be written from a Christian worldview. There should be no profanity, gratuitous violence, graphic sex, or other objectionable material not accepted by Christian publishing standards.

Criteria for Books Entered:

  1. Books must be author’s original work in print form and must be an English edition. No eBooks or audio books will be accepted. Only books originally published between the dates given above are eligible. Books entered in the awards in previous years are not eligible.

  2. Two books per title with entry form and fee (when applications are received applicants will receive an invoice within two weeks) must be received by June 30, 2024 Please use tracking. Authors assume all risks for lost mail. Send books (with entry fee of $50 if paying by check or money order) to:


Cindy Thomson

P.O. Box 298

Pataskala, OH 43062

(do not make checks payable to Cindy Thomson. See below)

      If you prefer to pay by money order or check, please make it payable to the 

      Mordecai Brown Legacy Foundation, Inc. 

      and mail in care of Cindy Thomson at the above address. 

      Entries will not be considered final until books and fees are received.

      Do not send cash. There are no refunds. Books will not be returned.


  3.  Enter as many different books as you like that meet the criteria, but each book title may only be entered into one         category. Each title requires a separate entry form and entry fee.

  4.  The decision of the judges is final. 

  5.  Books* may be entered in the following categories:

  • Nonfiction

  • Children's (age 2-8)

  • Children's (age 8-12)

  • Young Adult (age 12 and up)

  • Historical Fiction

  • Contemporary Fiction

  • Suspense/Mystery

  • Speculative Fiction

*Novellas—adult fiction books under 45,000 words—are NOT accepted at this time.

  6.  Winners will be announced at the conclusion of the Faith & Fellowship Book Festival on November 2, 2024.              Titles submitted to categories that do not receive enough entries will be assigned to the next closest category as         determined by the committee.

      Depending on the number of entries in each category, first, second, and third place winners will be announced.

      Honorable Mentions will be awarded when scores are very close, as determined by the committee.

      Each winner will receive a certificate and a logo that can be uploaded to blogs, used on memes, etc. First place               winners will also receive a display award.

  7.  Entry into the contest is acceptance of contest rules.  

  8.  You may access the application here. 

Judging Criteria:

Engaging Storyline

Relatable characters (fiction)

Book cover that reflects book’s message

Well-written without errors


Appropriate for target audience

Relatable characters for intended age group

Cohesive message

Illustrations that reflect book’s message

Questions? Contact the committee at

The purpose of the awards is to promote excellent books with a Christian worldview. The fees help support the Faith & Fellowship Book Festival, whose purpose is to connect readers with Christian authors. The judges are independent avid readers and not affiliated with the Faith & Fellowship Book Festival. FFBF is an activity within the Mordecai Brown Legacy Foundation, a registered 501c3 charity.


Good luck! We look forward to receiving your entries. 

Faith & Fellowship Book Festival Committee

Julie Dearyan, Sandra Merville Hart, Yolonda Tonette Sanders, Cindy Thomson

Join our mailing list! Scroll down to footer!

bottom of page